skip to main content
New Grading Scale
Posted On:
Thursday, February 02, 2017
RCSS students in grades 3-12 implement 10 point scale
RCSS students in grades 3-12 implement 10 point scale

 Beginning 2015-2016, all Randolph County School System (RCSS) students in grades three through twelve will be graded on a 10 point grading scale, instead of a 7 point grading scale. The transition to a 10 point grading scale will provide consistency for students across our district and will put RCSS students in a more competitive position as they apply for admission to colleges and universities. Our focus continues to be on rigor and grading students on content mastery. Under the new scale, grades and grade point average calculations will be applied as follows:


10 POINT SCALE Grades 3-12

A     90-100 Consistently exceeds grade level standards

B     80-89 Consistently meets and often exceeds grade level standards

C     70-79 Consistently meets grade level standards

D     60-69 Needs support in order to meet grade level standards

F     Below 60 Insufficient performance of targeted grade level standards and needs support

View all Highlights